PDA

View Full Version : Jump Shot

08-16-2002, 03:13 PM
Hi
I live in the Uk and I started playing 9-ball 2 years ago and I have reached a good standard. I have decided to start using a break-jump cue instead of a regular break cue. I am having problems playing the jump shot. I aim at the bottom of the cue ball at an angle of 45 degrees and strike down thropgh the cue ball. The cue ball is not gaining enough height for me to clear the blocker and therefore I cannot hit the object ball. Can anyone tell me where the striking point on the cue ball is ? and what angle should I be striking down on the cue ball at ?

Any help would be gratefully appreciated
Thank You Andrew

heater451
08-16-2002, 04:26 PM
I interpret from your post, that you are getting the ball into the air, just not at the height you need (for the distance you are jumping). If you post the distances involved--from cue ball to blocker, and total length of jump, then others might have a better idea of what's happening in your case.

Your issue may be more with technique, than angle of attack.

Here's a thread that Sid_Vicious started, about his success with the "dart stroke":

http://www.billiardsdigest.com/ccboard/showthreaded.php?Cat=&Board=ccbboard&Number=27663& page=&view=&sb=&o=

And here's one that I recently started:

http://www.billiardsdigest.com/ccboard/showthreaded.php?Cat=&Board=ccbboard&Number=30024& Search=true&Forum=ccbboard&Words=jump&Match=Entire %20Phrase&Searchpage=0&Limit=25&Old=1month&Main=30 024

You can also run a search (you may have to register), and see what you come up with.

Good luck!

===================

PQQLK9
08-16-2002, 04:30 PM
http://www.bunjeejump.com/2k_changes/bunjee_instructions_2k.htm

TomBrooklyn
08-16-2002, 04:34 PM