PDA

View Full Version : View From the Nurses Station

Gayle in MD
03-31-2010, 12:08 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">March 29, 2010, 4:14 pm
From Rage to Relief: View From a Nurse’s Station
By THERESA BROWN, R.N.

Several weeks ago on the hospital floor where I’m a nurse, we had a V.I.P. patient whose spouse expected, and got, the red-carpet treatment. The patient’s spouse made many demands, but what struck most of us as particularly galling was the meal service both received. Day after day, meal after meal, a hospital employee wheeled a china-laden cart into that patient’s room. It looked like room service at a fancy hotel.

Each time one of these splendid repasts came to the floor, work would stop while we watched the cart roll past the large metal service container stacked with trays that held the other patients’ meals.

“I find that really distasteful,” I found myself muttering as the cart went by.

Another staff member who overheard me said, “You’re not the only one who feels that way.”

The rage felt by the nurses on the floor was palpable. “Remember Mr. So-and-So who had no money at all — his wife couldn’t get a free meal,” one remarked.

Designating certain patients as V.I.P.’s is common enough in many hospitals, and typically people don’t pay extra for it. But no one liked the idea that one patient, as a result of connections and wealth, would be treated so much better than the others. And yet, as nurses we also know that the health insurance system we have lived with for years apportions medical care in just the same way.