PDA

View Full Version : Any advice for a beginner?

Baxter
05-27-2010, 11:06 PM
I'm relatively new to competitive/serious pool. I have a natural talent for the game, everyone I play (or should I say beat ;)) have a problem believing I've only been playing seriously for about 2 years. I recently got myself my first decent stick. It's a lower end Players cue with an 11mm shaft, and I'm about to put a Moori med tip on it. I like it because it has a low deflection, responsive english, and the smaller size feels better in my smaller hands. I've been looking at some performance shafts for it, mainly the Predator Z2/3142 and Meucci red/black dots. I also picked up Robert Byrne's New Standard Book Of Pool And Billiards. That book has helped my game transform, especially in the areas of cueball control and defensive strategies. I'm looking for some advice from more experienced players, stick wise or anything else you may think a beginner should know. I'm trying to absorb as much information as possible, constantly striving to improve my game in any way possible. Any information or ideas you can contribute are much appreciated!

1Time
05-28-2010, 01:44 AM
Try different cues / shafts / tips / equipment, and use what works best for you. I couldn't recommend any specific changes until I saw you shoot or learned of any deficiencies or problems you are having. The cue ball used matters. For example, shooting on a bar table with a heavy cue ball won't be the same as shooting on a 9' table with a red circle Aramith cue ball.

Seek out instruction from better players / instructors. Some of the most valuable things I've learned that improved my play was from better players (including a world champ). While most better players usually aren't willing or able to instruct so it actually helps, you never know when asking will pay off. I am available for non-professional instruction if you're in Las Vegas - no charge.