PDA

View Full Version : Building a Stroke?

08-30-2002, 01:35 PM
I have a beginner/intermediate player that wants me to help him develop a stroke, he would be a decent player if he had a stroke. I'm not a real good teacher, so what can I do to help this person learn a good solid stroke? Any drills or practice methods that will help. Please help, and thanks in advance!

Karatemom
08-30-2002, 02:12 PM
I'm far from being a teacher, but I am a student. I have been taught to shoot as many straight in balls as possible, making sure to use the same stroke method each time, and even closing my eyes. Apparently, this method gets driven into the mind by repetition and it does help. This is just my personal opinion from what I've been taught, but there will be much better and clearer responses from the more experienced players here.

Heide ~ just putting in my $.02

Drake
08-30-2002, 03:02 PM
The Old "Stroke through the Coke bottle" routine works pretty good for beginners. Make them stroke into the bottle as least fifty times in a solid stance. Then, Make them go through their preshot routine and treat the bottle like the cue ball and deliver their single stroke into the bottle....repeat 20 times. This isn't as easy as it sounds. An old guy with the nickname "stick" taught me this...Go figure. There are many drills that build a good solid stroke.

08-30-2002, 06:13 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote: Anonymous:</font><hr> I have a beginner/intermediate player that wants me to help him develop a stroke, he would be a decent player if he had a stroke. I'm not a real good teacher, so what can I do to help this person learn a good solid stroke? Any drills or practice methods that will help. Please help, and thanks in advance! <hr></blockquote>

let them play straight rail billiards. now that's a real stroke builder there. u wonder why so many filipino players have good stroke? cuz they play billiards, mostly straight rail.

08-30-2002, 11:05 PM