PDA

View Full Version : Cue / Tip Questions

09-12-2002, 01:45 PM
I'm a newbie (as the handle would imply) trying to get some idea of the equipment some of you more serious players are using so I don't wind up buying something I'll have to replace later on. If you guys wouldn't mind sharing with me a few bits of info, I (and my game) would appreciate it.

A) What kind of cue do you use as your playing cue, the one you take all your normal shots with? What weight is it? Anything particularly good or bad about it?

B) Do you use a break/jump cue? If so what kind and what do you like/hate about it?

C) Are you particular about the kind of tip on your cue? Do you play with a Talisman or Moori tip? Are you a dime or nickel player?

I'm sure it seems like a lot of crap to ask you guys, but most pool players I've ever talked to love prattling on about their favorite stick, so I figured I'd give it a shot. /ccboard/images/icons/smile.gif

09-12-2002, 01:57 PM
Joel Hercek custom cue, 18.9 oz. It is beautifully balanced.
Moori Hard tips with dime shape.
Gulyassy Jump/Break cue--jumps like a rabbit/breaks like a train.

When buying a cue, I would suggest finding a dealer where you can try before you buy, since balance and feel are often the deciding factors. One advantage to multiple shafts is being able to try different tips until you find what works best for you.

My choice of Moori tips is based on consistency. I don't think they are necessarily better than some others, but they are very consistent from one tip to the next.

09-12-2002, 02:11 PM

09-12-2002, 02:31 PM
Predator SPW 18.3 ounces w/ Moori MH tip. I like the feel of a wood-to-wood joint and the simplicity of the sneaky pete Pred cue. Moori tip is my choice just like what the others said, consistent and gets a good grab of the cueball.

09-12-2002, 09:05 PM