PDA

View Full Version : New stroke?

MaineEAck
09-12-2002, 06:59 PM
I went to a pool tournament in CT, and played with a few players who shoot very very well. The thing is one of the guys I played with the whole weekend had a kinda loopy stroke and a few habits when shooting.

When I came back I started shooting with a little bit of the loopy'niss and when I am shooting a shot if I don't feel right, I get half way up and stroke my stick twice and move my feet a little.
It looks weird ( or so I would think it does) but I am playing a lot and I mean a lot better then normal. It has been working for me for a few days now.

I guess my question is should I stay with the new way and risk looking like I am trying to act like Efren Rayes or any other Philippian players?

Thierry Layani
09-12-2002, 07:20 PM
Hi Jordan,

If you want my modest advice, keep it simple. I've learned with time that when you keep things simple, you don't start worrying about your stroke or anything else, you just play your game and forget about your technique. You actually become your technique. If you're too conscious of your technique, it will actually disturb you because your mind won't be at the right place. For what it means and for what it's worth... keep it simple.
Also keep in mind that for Bustamante or Reyes, their technique is probably very simple to execute. Simple doesn't mean conventionnal.

Thierry Layani
www.layanicues.com (http://www.layanicues.com)

Barbara
09-12-2002, 07:24 PM
Jordan,

Get yourself to an instructor BEFORE you start learning new things, probably which are NOT good mechanics!

Preferably this will be a BCA instructor. Ken Tewksbury is somewhat in your area and he's very good. I think he even made Master Instructor when I took RandyG's Pool School up there. Ken's in Concord, NH - 603-225-8298. Talk to him, he'll probably try to work a couple things over the phone with you.