PDA

View Full Version : Stupid and wrong aiming system-- WORKS!!!???!?!?!

Soflasnapper
04-24-2011, 12:10 PM
So I'm studying up a little on one-pocket, never having played it or able to watch it enough to understand what's going on with any appreciation, thinking it boring, etc.

I got a introductory one-pocket basics dvd from Bert Kinnister, and it had a brief explanation of the most simple aiming system ever. So simple I was sure it couldn't possibly work.

However, taking it to the table showed me it apparently does work (within its stated parameters, at cut angles no greater than 45 degrees).

How simple is it? How wrong is it?

Here's the theory. Aim with the center of the cue tip, through the center of the cue ball, DIRECTLY AT THE CONTACT POINT. (By cueing on the center axis this way, we are not talking any English effects to get this to work, strictly center ball.)

Obviously this cannot work. And oddly, it is the same (alleged) error included in Mosconi's book (which I've widely heard was the work product of the ghost writer without any Mosconi involvement other than putting his name on the book).

What Kinnister said was that IF you can aim and deliver the cue on a line through the cue ball's center axis to the actual contact point, the object ball goes in the hole.

And apparently, for at least many cut angles under the half-ball cut line, this works suspiciously and improbably well.

Didn't believe it, couldn't disprove it, and it seems likely I'll be using it whenever the situation where it works comes up. Bert also mentioned if the cue ball and object ball are close together, this doesn't work that well, even when the cut angle is under 45 degrees.

I think that at a distance, the two opposite curvatures of the balls equal themselves out exactly enough, or approximately enough at least, to where the contact point does get hit, even with this bizarre aim line.

pooltchr
04-24-2011, 12:19 PM