PDA

View Full Version : managing handicapps, another dumb ?

bluewolf
09-16-2002, 07:12 PM
I want to do the right thing so would like some feedback either here or pvt.

I believe that sandbagging is when a person plays intentionally lower than their true ability to keep a lower handicapp. I am not doing that cuz I always play my best.

Something else is bothering me too. 3 years ago I played apa as a good 2.I did not play for 3 years but was still in their computer as a 2.In between I purchased my own pool table and studied a lot about strategy. When I started playing pool again, I was quite a bit better, tho still listed as a 2. My captain knows my skill level because he has watched me and played games with me (he is a 4).Having me as a 2 enables him to also play all his higher ranked players. If he plays me against 5s,6s,and 7s most of the time so my handicap wont go up, is that cheating?

Sorry for the experienced people here if this is a dumb question.It feels like cheating to me but some people say it isnt . It is what they call 'managing your handicap'.

any expertise would be appreciated.

Laura

TomBrooklyn
09-16-2002, 08:48 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote: bluewolf:</font><hr> is that cheating? some people say it is what they call 'managing your handicap'.<hr></blockquote>It is absolutely not cheating or sandbagging unless you don't play the best you can. I would guess, or at least hope, that your captain is interested in managing the team to achieve the most wins, not managing your handicap.

I would consider it a plus in a way for you because you get to play more games. If you played another 2, the most games you could play would be three (best 2 out of 3). If you play a 7, the least amount of games you will play is five. (The other player must win at least five games.)