PDA

View Full Version : Indoctrination of children

cushioncrawler
08-27-2011, 02:19 AM
Indoctrination of children - how to escape? By AMPHIPRION
Added: Thu, 25 Aug 2011 18:13:57 UTC

Dear RDF and Prof. Richard Dawkins, Dear Readers,

I am writing here with a fundamental question for my life - about the indoctrination of children - that I will come to a little later. First of all, let me tell you that I am a biologist who was fortunate to grow up with very little religion in a secular, but Christian-dominated European country. My parents were, as I found out as an adolescent, atheists, but wouldn't talk much about it. Since every citizen who is earning salary has to pay church tax, most of us left Church and so did I at the age of 18 - after all, what's there to lose? Nothing. So my "conversion" from a pseudo-Catholic to a convinced Atheist didn't need much persuasion, and my university education, combined with your books and documentations came as a gift to me - they are all excellent, to put it short.

But there's another "conversion" I had to go through, and this is where the problem starts and the reason why I need some serious advice: My (now) husband grew up in a so-called "100%" Asian Muslim country, but has always had lots of contact to central Europe due to his work in the aviation business. We have been together for 8 years until we got married (nobody can say I didn't know what would wait ahead of me). Even though I tried everything not to convert to Muslim in order to marry him, let me tell you in short: it was just not possible. I had the choice of either convert and marry, or not marry at all, which means that I would have never got a marriage visa for his non-secular country. Thus, the claim that a woman "of the Book" (which I would have pretended to be!) can get married to a Muslim man is: Nonsense.