PDA

View Full Version : Compete less, drill more?

10-04-2002, 04:17 AM
Am I right in thinking that beginners sometimes hurt themselves by neglecting drill work and by focusing too soon on play in leagues? League play can be fun, but I question whether playing in a league is an effective way to develop basic skills. Comments from the board's teachers might be helpful...

Twelve Generals

bluewolf
10-04-2002, 05:25 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote: Anonymous:</font><hr> Am I right in thinking that beginners sometimes hurt themselves by neglecting drill work and by focusing too soon on play in leagues? League play can be fun, but I question whether playing in a league is an effective way to develop basic skills. Comments from the board's teachers might be helpful...

Twelve Generals <hr></blockquote>

hopefully you will hear from more experienced people than I. i am a beginner and am on a league where in talking to many 2-3,these are observations only, of many of them.

they only want one night of pool and league for them is a social thing.

most do not take lessons, do drills,practice as they are just doing it for fun.it is beyond me, but have talked to many who are content with sl2 or 3. in fact, even met some 4s that way.

gosh, i think drills are very important to me as a beginner. i take lessons to give me more sound fundamentals cuz i would never be any good without a good stroke, follow through etc

as a beginner, i also know i am not going to get good overnight. i have to put in the time, so having a pool table in my house and doing drills and practice 1-2 hours a day, i am logging that time.my hubbie is a 7 so you might say i get constant mini lessons, although sometimes i get irritated when he tells me too much at once. i know i, as a beginner, though, am blessed in ways, have resources at my disposal that most beginners do not.