PDA

View Full Version : What to Watch

Fred Agnir
10-04-2002, 07:19 AM
One of my new teammates has reminded me of the importance of watching better players and learning from it. The question is, "what should they be lookiing for?"

I think that it's different for every player, and that it's up to the player to figure out what information they can use to benefit their own game.

When I was a beginner, I would watch the better player's stroke, address, follow through, and overall cadence. The physical motion (or lack of motions as it were)that separates a consistent shotmaker from an inconsistent one.

As I advanced, I watched the bridge hand and the grip hand intently. Some people have no idea that there are some dozen or more bridges that really need to be worked on to continue up the ladder. I watched the footwork, the bridge lengths, the approach to the table, how they leaned over.

Further observation was on the pattern and position play. The strategy and the thought process. How they walk around the table. How they check the angles.

All that said, I personally think that a beginner shouldn't try to engulf him/herself in all the observations, but choose one aspect (the first above) and work on that. Continue from there.

How this reminder came up was when one of my new teammates informed us that he would only show up to league night if he was going to play. I requested that he show up, at least for nothing else but to watch. He didn't get it.

Fred <~~~ still watching

10-04-2002, 07:25 AM
I like to watch pool on ESPN, Survivor and Big Brother 3. Oh, and Teen Girls Gone Wild..... Tampa Tubby-Bob

eg8r
10-04-2002, 07:31 AM