PDA

View Full Version : Myth of the center ball hit

14 Ball
08-24-2012, 09:03 PM
I mistakingly posted this at the newbie forum the other day. (forgive me - I've been playing pool for forty years but I'm a newbie poster)..... Many years ago I read a column by Bob Meucci where he claimed that the center ball hit was a myth. He said that while pros will advise amateurs to use a center ball hit as much as possible, that in reality, pros deliberately put a tad bit of English on every shot that appears to the naked eye, to be struck in the center, and that a true center ball hit would produce something akin to a knuckelball, which would be uncontrollable. I agreed with him at the time, but I'm not so sure today. Anyhow, I'd like to read that article again but I can't find it. I've gone to Meucci's site - googled - done everything. Is there anyone out there who has read this article or knows where to find it?

Rich R (over at the newbie forum) replied: I didn't read that article but I think the key phrase is "as much as possible." A dead center hit on the cue ball is probably impossible and the pros may intentionally favor one side, or top to bottom, on purpose but then stay as close to center as possible. Frankly, I've seen a lot of pros play and it is amazing how much spin they can put on a ball while staying near the center of the cue ball. It is all in the stroke.
As for the knuckle ball effect goes, I would say that depends on how hard the cue ball was hit. With a firm hit, the cue ball will skid and if it hits the object ball before it starts to roll, that would be a stun shot and it is commonly used.
If you ever find a link to that article please post a link here. I would like to read it.