PDA

View Full Version : How Much and What have you IMPROVED this past year

bigbro6060
10-11-2002, 03:01 PM
This is my first year playing so yeah obviously it's just starting to learn the game for me

I'm interested to hear from those who have been playing more than a year or two, how much and what you have improved this last year in your pool game

Whilst i am new to Pool, there are other endeavours (namely Tennis, Taekwondo and running) which i have done for several years and at various times have put high levels of effort into becoming the best i possibly can be at.

We all know about the Law of diminishing returns. You start off and improve rapidly then as you get to a higher level it takes more and more effort for small gains. With running i went from doing 10K in around 48 minutes to doing it in 38 minutes fairly easily. To get to my PB which is 35 mins 15 seconds, it took a hell of a lot of work ! Hill work, interval training, ultra long runs, track work , using a heart rate monitor and keeping records etc etc

with Pool, there seem to be so many things to practice. I've getting my own table in a month. There are many things i've never even practised yet, from kicking and banking to safety play to breaking to really getting stuck into cue ball positioning drills.

I can already hold my own with players who have been playing for years so i do expect to be able to improve to be able to beat them.