PDA

View Full Version : Question for cuemakers

11-02-2002, 01:21 PM
Got some stuff called Atlas MP ivory substitute. They say it glues with epoxy or wood glue in the catalog. In testing I can't find anything that it glues with other then super glue. Is there something I don't know? Or is the stuff more trouble then it is worth. Also how does finish do over it. Thank you

BLACKHEART
11-02-2002, 09:30 PM
Most of the BLACK HEART Qs, that I make, have this stuff in the butt caps,ferrules & joints. I've been useing it for about 12-13 years. I use SUPER GLUE GEL for the ferrules & 5 minute epoxy for everything else. I've never had a failure. I use an automotive 2 part, clear finish. I have no problems painting over the ivory substitute...JER

11-02-2002, 10:18 PM
Hi
Thank you for your reply. The only testing I have done was to just apply the glue to the stuff and see how it adhered. I found I was able to just peel it off. I think what I am going to do is bore it out and sleeve it over linen phenolic before putting it on the wood. If I can ask, what type of super glue do you use? Won't it set up too fast in case you don't get the piece positioned quickly. The stuff does seem to glue with super glue gel but to slip on a ferrule I don't want any glue voids. In general I use West Systen epoxies

Troy
11-02-2002, 10:26 PM
I too use Super Glue GEL with great success. I've experimented with wood glue with negative results.

Troy
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote: BLACKHEART:</font><hr> Most of the BLACK HEART Qs, that I make, have this stuff in the butt caps,ferrules &amp; joints. I've been useing it for about 12-13 years. I use SUPER GLUE GEL for the ferrules &amp; 5 minute epoxy for everything else. I've never had a failure. I use an automotive 2 part, clear finish. I have no problems painting over the ivory substitute...JER <hr></blockquote>

Troy
11-02-2002, 11:41 PM