PDA

View Full Version : I'm SO AMAZED that some people STILL think that...

bigbro6060
11-10-2002, 05:15 PM
English (sidespin) is transferred from the cueball to the object ball !

You just need to test for yourself

Grab 2 striped object balls. using your cue, hit one at the other with a centre hit, see what happens. Then again using your cue, hit one at the other with extreme english and you notice that the object ball doesn't spin any different!

so why do some people including many pros still think that english is transferred to the object ball ?

many books state this

am i missing something ?

eg8r
11-10-2002, 05:40 PM
Yes I think you are. I am no pro, but I believe the english is transferred but in the opposite direction (if your cueball has right, then the ob has left). My example will not include side spin but instead top spin and bottom spin. Example, there are two balls lined up straight at the side pocket about an inch from each other. The cue ball is in line with them. If you hit draw on the cue ball, then the first ob contacted will have follow and follow into the second ball (which will fall in) and move to its spot, giving you a shot on that ball in the same pocket. (set the same two balls back on the table)If you hit follow on the cue ball then the cue will roll forward, contacting the first ob giving it draw. When the ob hits the second ball (second ball falling into pocket) it will draw back into the cue ball (if the cueball is still rolling forward).

If this example does not make sense, then line up an object ball on the rail and the cue ball on the rail and try to pocket the ob using any spin to the side. It is quite difficult, since the object ball will want to bounce off the rail.

eg8r

griffith_d
11-10-2002, 06:22 PM
Obviously, you are mistaken.

Griff

bigbro6060
11-10-2002, 06:25 PM
My comment was meant specifically for the transfer of English to the object ball, not draw or follow which i haven't really investigated