PDA

View Full Version : Anyone NOT use a Looped Rail bridge on the Break ?



bigbro6060
11-13-2002, 05:51 PM
Seems just about all pros do and it's the best way to get and keep the cue as level as possible during the break stroke

Tom_In_Cincy
11-13-2002, 05:59 PM
bro,

I don't use a looped bridge on 14.1 or One Pocket breaks. All other breaks.. I use a tightened closed bridge.

For 9 ball power breaks, I also use a slightly jacked up approach to the break. This takes lots of practice and lately I have been using a softer, more controled break.

Mike H
11-13-2002, 05:59 PM
I rarely, if ever, break using a rail bridge. For the most part, I prefer the break box style break, so my hand is on the table with a closed bridge. I feel this provides a more reliable result with the CB, and I have also found I make balls more consistently and get a better spread of balls.

bigbro6060
11-13-2002, 07:38 PM
What exactly is the Break box style break ?

cheers

Mike H
11-14-2002, 01:45 PM
The break box spans 9 inches to each side of the head spot, behind the head spot. It is mostly used in tournaments to "equalize" the advantage one breaker might have over another.