PDA

View Full Version : If you could start over again...

Allan
11-18-2002, 09:42 PM
Hello everyone,

After a long search for something that we would both be interested in and like to do together, my wife and I decided that pool would be a great game to learn. We are absolute beginners and have just recently begun to find all of the local halls in our area (Cleveland, Oh) We bought Byrne's New Standard book of Pool and Billiards and have read through some of that. We are looking at cues and will be getting one another a new cue as one of our Christmas presents. I wanted to ask this question to all you players out there:

If you could start over from the beginning what would your plan of attack be to learn the game? What would you have done sooner? What did you spend a lot of time on that you wish you would have focused on something more pertinent to your game?

Any other words of advice or thoughts are of coarse welcome,

Allan

Tom_In_Cincy
11-18-2002, 10:08 PM
I wish this was available in 1964.. when I wanted to learn.. no videos or books that are now so plentiful..

I would get a qualified instructor to "BEAT IT IN TO MY HEAD" about the BASICS...

Stance, the proper way to address the cue ball for a shot. Balence is always a good thing.

Grip, holding the cue properly in your backhand and forehand.

Bridge hand (open and closed)shots.

Aiming systems.. My favorite is the 'ghost ball'

Stop shots

Draw

Follow

Long shots

Then, after you have learned the above..

Speed and rails for position..

only after you have become 'good' or at least capable of doing the above consistantly.. then learn ENGLISH

Byrnes' book is a good reference to have.. but a good instructor, that is local, that you can rely on for follow up visits and recording capability (video tape your lessons).. you need to know how well you have progressed from the first video to the current status.

Enjoy.. and please let us know your progress.. thanks for joining CCB

Vicki
11-18-2002, 10:15 PM