PDA

View Full Version : Systems versus "feel" for banking and kicking

LC3
11-25-2002, 10:41 AM
Do you use systems for banking and kicking, or do you just judge the angle and speed? I ask because I've been working with the banking system Ray Martin teaches in 99 Critical Shots, but it isn't working out for me because it doesn't take into account the the OB sliding or rolling into the cushion, cushion compression, and other factors. I do better shooting bank shots instinctively, but not good enough to be content. How about you: systems or "feel?"

The best bank training I've tried so far is taking CB in hand and setting up banks that seem to be straight in. This seems to tune me into gauging angles, and I can adjust for off angle shots with pretty good accuracy. Do you know of any other drills for developing banks and kicks?

bluewolf
11-25-2002, 06:31 PM
I am not good at banks. There are only a couple I can make, you know the ones that are 'already in the hole'. I hope one day to get some instruction on this that is no so complex. WW is good at banks but he tells me all this english stuff that I am not ready to get into.

Kicks are easier for me cuz I can look at the angles and it helps me to remember how far a certain hit on the rail needs to be from the diamond or in some cases on the diamond. I have used one rail kick shots to make one of my balls but have only used 2-3 rail kicks to get a legal hit on my ball and to play safe. Using them to get in the ball seems a little beyond my expertise unless it is one rail.

Some play by feel but I am not there yet. I still have too much to learn about the game.

blu

smfsrca
11-25-2002, 06:56 PM