PDA

View Full Version : Ideas/thoughts for a new pool room

dooziexx
11-25-2002, 01:33 PM
Ive been playing pool for the last 14 years and now my dreams of opening a pool hall is closer than ever. Even though its probably 2-3 years away, I thought this would be a good time to gather information on what the room needs to attract business especially from a players standpoint. I want this room to be a place where serious players attend but also at the sametime not shun away beginners.
Heres what Ive got so far
1) Tables - not sure of how big of an operation I would want but for now I think 20 9ft tables and 1 billiard table should be considered a medium size pool room.
2) Hours of Operation: 12pm - 2 or 3 am daily with
3) Table rates: For now here what Im thinking:
$5/hr for 1-player
$6/hr for 2-players
$7/hr for 3-players
$8/hr for 4 or more players
Daily specials on table rates: From 12pm-6pm, $10 all you can play.
4) Alcohol or No Alcohol: My intent is to make this room a more family oriented room. Although alcohol will bring in lots of sales, but it will also alienate the younger crowd which in itself will bring business to the pool room. I would like to hear both sides of the argument.
5) Video Game room - 5 to 6 of the latest arcade games
6) Internet Jukebox - armed with the latest hits from all genres
7) TV Lounge - an area where patrons can relax and socialize
8) Stadium type seating - 2 rows of seats where the second row is higher than the front row
9) Food - snacks type food (nachos, chips, cnady bars) or grilled type foods (hotdogs, burgers & sandwiches) or both
10) Weekly tourneys & leagues - Here I'm thinking a weekly 9ball, 8ball tourneys ($10 or $20 entry fees) and APA or BCA leagues on weekdays.
Weekend tourneys held on Sundays:
1st Sunday of the Month: money added 9 ball tourney
2nd Sunday of the Month: 8 ball tourney
3rd Sunday of the Month: 14.1 tourney
4th Sunday of the Month: 1 pocket tournet