PDA

View Full Version : newbie needs a cheap but decent cue stick!

12-05-2002, 10:22 PM
Hello! I just started playing pool about a month ago, and i play about 3 times a week. I am looking for a cheap but good cue stick. I dont want to spend more then 50 dollers. I was going to buy this Mali at my local pool hall for 100 dollers, but i dont want to spend that much. I want a cue stick that slides good and doesnt warp. I was looking at a titanium one. I prefer one with a wrapped handle, linen or foam. Please help!

Tom_In_Cincy
12-05-2002, 10:35 PM
You might be able to get a used cue for that price.. but you will need to spend over a hundred for the quality you are looking for..

Cuetec Cues are good starter cues.. they start out at $130 but you might find a good deal somewhere on the web.

12-05-2002, 10:44 PM
argh...darnet. are mali cues any good tho?

and does anyone know where i can get them cheap?

Ludba
12-06-2002, 05:00 AM
If you started a month ago, your objective should be to learn and improve. A $300 cue won't help any more in that pursuit than a cheapo. Save your money, get a $50 two-piece brunswick cue or some other generic brand. All you need is some stroke consistency until you get good enough to realize the difference between a $100 cue and a $600 cue. In some cases, the only difference is appearance (inlays, special woods, etc.). The thing you should be trying to avoid is having to use a house cue, which is already warped and mushroom-tipped.

So you get a $50 cheapo cue. If the tip falls off, big deal. You shell out another $10 bucks for a good tip, like Le Pro. Or you go all out and spend $20 buck on a layered tip. The tip is the most important part of the cue anyway. You've spent AT MOST $70 for a stick that will probably last you a year.