PDA

View Full Version : Generating power for the break

03-11-2002, 06:37 PM
In the "Breaking" thread, I said that I used to be a martial arts instructor and that I would write out an explanation of how the human body can be used to generate power. I finally got around to writing it up. This post will talk only about principles, not specific techniques. There will be another post later on specific techniques.

As many people know, when we talk about “power”, or “force”, we are talking about mass and velocity. Let’s first talk about velocity, or speed.

Generating power for a technique (a punch, a kick, a fastball, a break, etc.) requires generating the maximum speed for the part of the body that is being used for whatever task we are generating power for.

To generate speed, we must combine the speeds of numerous joint motions. The sum of the speeds of these joint motions will be the speed of the part of our body that is actually contacting what it is we are moving. Let’s look at a simplified example.

Stand still. Throw a ball at 20 mph. Relative to you and to other stationary objects around you (like the ground, for instance), the ball is moving at 20 mph. Simple. Now start walking forward at 10 mph. And throw the ball at (relative to you) 20 mph. The ball is moving relative to the ground at 30 mph. Now put yourself in the back of a semi-truck, moving 60 mph. Walk forward (relative to the truck) at 10 mph, and throw the ball (relative to you) at 20 mph. The ball is now traveling at 90 mph.

Each item of movement adds its speed to the sum of the items of movement before it. The truck is moving 60 mph. You are moving (relative to the truck) at 10 mph. So relative to the ground, you are moving at 70 mph. Your hand is moving (relative to your own body) 20 mph. All them all up, and your hand (which is the last thing connected to the ball) is moving at 90 mph, relative to the rest of the world.