PDA

View Full Version : graphite cue?

12-27-2002, 06:54 AM
hello all. im quite new to this site... happened to stumble across it today. i consider myself a total pool newb, altho i have been playing frequently for the past year in my university pool room.

i have come to the point where i need to purchase a pool cue. i have looked at past posts in the archives about first cue recommendations, but i have not found any information regarding graphite coated cues. personally, i am looking for a cue that will last a long time w/o warping, yet will provide decent playability so that as my skills increase, the cue will not hold me back. durability is more of a concern because i dont intend on purchasing another pool cue for a looooong time. 2-piece is a must. as a college student i cannot afford to spend too much on a pool cue... im looking in the price range of anything below $80, maybe 90 for pool cue (no more than $100 for a pool cue and case combined). on ebay, im looking at "EARL STRICKLAND GRAPHITE CUE WITH CASE" so far at $60, and "Eliminator Graphite 587 Pool Cue Stick w/ case - New!" for $80. i like the solid black color, but if "regular" sticks will be better, then please tell me.

would you guys recommend these graphite cues, or should i go with a different variety of pool sticks?

thanx a lot for reading/replying... i really appreciate it.

Kato
12-27-2002, 07:08 AM
I can't in good conscience recommend a graphite cue. I think you'll find most of us are in agreement on maple shafts. I really think you should keep looking. There are deals out there.

Kato

cheesemouse
12-27-2002, 07:54 AM
Blah,
I'm on my knees....don't let a graphite cue be your first stick. There is absolutely nothing wrong starting out with a low end sneakypete for good ball striking. If looks are important your on your own and the sky is the limit...

silverbullet
12-27-2002, 08:28 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote cheesemouse:</font><hr> Blah,