PDA

View Full Version : Your Definition "How Long Have You Been Playing"

Sid_Vicious
01-01-2003, 09:19 AM
I was asked the question of how long I had been playing the game yesterday and as usual I had to divide my answer into categories of skill level, beginning in the childhood days on the Sears composite table. Tell me, shouldn't there be some kind of benchmark as to when you can actually say that you have been playing pool? I have a friend who automatically says he's been "doin' this" for 40 years, and I won't argue with him but yet wonder if his game was noteworthy for all of those years(hell I've been "doin' this" for 40 years too but ain't saying that outloud.) How would you define this question, if you had to give an absolute number of years???sid

Btw, This isn't an issue with the friend's statement mentioned in this post, just a curious question about one's billiard longevity. sv

Tom_In_Cincy
01-01-2003, 12:14 PM
Sid,
Interesting perception..

I started playing when I was 17 and played almost daily for about 5 years. I cut back when I started college. I only played about once a week.

I really started playing seriously when I was in my 30s and have been playing regularly (at least once a week) for the last 20 years.

I just turned 55, and like your friend would say.. I've been playing for almost 40 years.. but just seriously the last 20

Fred Agnir
01-01-2003, 12:23 PM
Interesting question. I mean, if someone's been playing crappy pool for 40 years, does that really mean anything? I usually say I started at 14, but I really didn't fall in love with the game until I was 16, and I really wasn't able to play a lot until I was 18. I didn't become a top local player unitl I was 20. Didn't take a lesson 'til 22. Didn't play anyone of any significance until I was 28. Didn't take BCA professional lessons 'til I was 34. And today, I still have little clue as to what I'm doing, so I guess I'm still at zero years.