PDA

View Full Version : "23 Layer" Hercules Tips?

SpiderMan
01-02-2003, 01:55 AM
Anybody have a recently-purchased Hercules tip and a magnifier handy? Can you count the layers?

All of the vendors offering these tips have the same ad copy, 23 layers of pigskin, but the "Hercules" tips I recently got from Atlas have only 11 layers. I called to ask about it, and was told that was the way they were now being supplied.

I'm suspicious, because when I compare the Atlas "Hercules" with a Talisman Pro, they are identical. I mean REALLY identical, right down to the exact color of gold ink and font size used to mark the hardness grade. Even the layer appearance (wavy, like all T. Pros) and total thickness are the same.

I think someone has their inventory jumbled, but then I've never tried to purchase Hercules tips before either, so I can't be sure. What's the verdict on a "real" Hercules, 23 layers as advertised, or only 11? /ccboard/images/graemlins/confused.gif

SpiderMan

BillPorter
01-02-2003, 07:15 AM
Spidey, I have a tip that I purchased from Billiards Express for $7.50 that was sold as a Hercules. Using a magnifying glass, I counted the layers and, while I wouldn't stake my life on the accuracy of the count, I counted 16 layers. I like a softer tip like a Le Pro or even Elk Master, so I am not using a Hercules on my playing cue. BTW, I remember haviing bought a Hercules tip from the same source several months ago and while I don't remember the number of layers I DO recall thinking to myself that it was definitely less than 23.

01-02-2003, 08:11 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote SpiderMan:</font><hr> Anybody have a recently-purchased Hercules tip and a magnifier handy? Can you count the layers?

All of the vendors offering these tips have the same ad copy, 23 layers of pigskin, but the "Hercules" tips I recently got from Atlas have only 11 layers. I called to ask about it, and was told that was the way they were now being supplied.