PDA

View Full Version : Pool injury

Hopster
01-06-2003, 04:31 PM
I got a problem, i started playing again after a long layoff and my left hamstring has been giving me hell. Im a right handed played so im putting most of my weight on my left leg. It started a week after i started playing , then i took it easy on it and it faded. Now i had to lay off playing for about 3 weeks and i played again the other day for about 4 hours and its nagging me again. Anyone have any similar experience ?
I dont do any excercise so to speak and im only in my early forties.

Karatemom
01-06-2003, 04:49 PM
From what I can tell from your post, we have a similar stance. I, too, am right handed and put probably 60% of my weight on my front leg. Just recently, I started shooting more than I usually do, and my left leg gave me some trouble as well for the next couple of days. It hurt like hell to walk, but I could shoot without pain. Well, I didn't let it get the better of me and went about my usual activities, cleaning house, going to the store, etc. Within 2 days, it was gone. I hope it doesn't come back anytime soon.

Without a doubt, keeping your legs toned is a major plus in this game. You don't realize how much you really use them until you don't for a while, LOL.

Heide

phil in sofla
01-06-2003, 06:53 PM
Hammies are nagging injuries. This problem most likely relates to tightness rather than a muscular strain from exertion (not a lot of exertion in the pool stance).

Two things may help, one obvious, one not so obvious. Stretching the hamstring (obvious) and stretching the quadracepts (not obvious). But the muscles in the body work with another set providing the equal and opposite movement, and troubles in one can lead to troubles in the other.