PDA

View Full Version : Tournament Etiquette Questions/Opinions

01-06-2003, 04:44 PM
I've been playing for awhile, but I'm just starting out in tourneys (local pool hall tourneys, nothing big). Here are some questions on tourney etiquette.
1. considered rude to make your opponent shoot the 9-ball with BIH?
2. opponent miscues on break- give him another shot, or your break?
3. opponent accidentally nudges the cue ball before he shoots, making very little difference- let it go or BIH for you?
4. this is more of a rules question-you shoot the OB softly but it doesnt drop, nor contact a rail, is it a foul?
5. Does the 3-foul rule apply in small local tourneys?
6. shake hands before and after match?
7. I assume the PH owners allow masse and jump shots during tourneys right?
Thanks!

eg8r
01-06-2003, 05:12 PM
[ QUOTE ]
1. considered rude to make your opponent shoot the 9-ball with BIH? <font color="red"> No. The opponent is supposed to shoot it in. I never give the ball to my opponent in a tournament. </font color>
2. opponent miscues on break- give him another shot, or your break? <font color="red"> In general I will let them shoot again. </font color>
3. opponent accidentally nudges the cue ball before he shoots, making very little difference- let it go or BIH for you? <font color="red"> I am too nice sometimes and will let them go again. If they are arrogant or try to hide it and I saw it I will call them on it and take BIH </font color>
4. this is more of a rules question-you shoot the OB softly but it doesnt drop, nor contact a rail, is it a foul? <font color="red"> This is foul and I take BIH </font color>
5. Does the 3-foul rule apply in small local tourneys? <font color="red"> That is up to the rules of the tourney and you can ask the TD </font color>
6. shake hands before and after match? <font color="red"> Always provided the other guy is not a sore loser. </font color>