PDA

View Full Version : Push Out Rules Question



01-06-2003, 08:02 PM
You can pocket any ball during a push,right?

Harold Acosta
01-06-2003, 08:34 PM
5.6 PUSH OUT
The player who shoots the shot immediately after a legal break may play a push out in an attempt to move the cue ball into a better position for the option that follows. On a push out, the cue ball is not required to con-tact any object ball nor any rail, but all other foul rules still apply. The player must announce the intention of playing a push out before the shot, or the shot is considered to be a normal shot. Any ball pocketed on a push out does not count and remains pocketed except the 9-ball. Following a legal push out, the incoming player is permitted to shoot from that position or to pass the shot back to the player who pushed out. A push out is not considered to be a foul as long as no rule (except rules 5.8 and 5.9) is violated. An illegal push out is penalized according to the type of foul committed. After a player scratches on the break shot, the incoming player cannot play a push out.

[b]<font color="blue">Billiards is a passionate sport for the mind and soul!</font color>
http://www.thebilliardstour.com/images/starscrash.gif

9 Ball Girl
01-06-2003, 11:31 PM
Just make sure that you call a push before you execute it. I had this one guy call a push on me in a tourney. He wound up pocketing the 1 ball. Then he wanted to keep on shooting. I stopped him and told him that he can't because he called a push. Well, we argued a bit but finally I and a friend playing next to me got it through his thick skull. /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif