View Full Version : Derby City Classic Tournament Buy Back Rules
I am interested in the buy back option of the derby city classic tournament. Does anybody have a good understanding on how it works. Is it like a double elimination, meaning all the players that buy back in play on a loosers side of the tournament and have to beat the winner of the winners side twice???? /ccboard/images/graemlins/confused.gif
01-08-2003, 08:14 AM
When a player looses his/her first match, they have the option to buy back into the event. This option is only available ONCE during an event.
The director has to re-draw for matches in each round. This is because a conventional double elimination chart is useless due to the fact that a player might not buy-back into the event. This can create some interesting situations where a player could "bye" his/her way into the finals. It happened a few years ago with Troy Frank winning the 9-Ball event.
As for your question about the finals. There are three scenarios that could happen.
1. Neither of the last two players has a lose. This could have the potential of a three set final.
2. One of the last two players has a lose and the other has no loses. This could have the potential of a two set final.
3. Both players have one loss. This would be a one set final.
The buy-back option is a very interesting format, IMO.
01-09-2003, 09:17 AM
In the finals of 9-ball bank, Steve McInnish (sp?), aka 'The Mechanic', beat Danny Harriman, but Danny still had his buy back available, so the two played the second set, and Harriman outlasted Steve to win the Banks division. The buy back can be excercised once, at any round in the tournament, but you have to buy back in immediately, before the next draw -- if you you sleep your buy-back, you're out.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.