PDA

View Full Version : cue weight?

silverbullet
01-12-2003, 02:27 PM
Right now, I am playing with a 19oz. All of my sticks are 19 oz, but I have liked 20oz sticks too when I got a chance to hold them.

I guess I had two questions, especially to those who have played a long time.

Since I am a relative newcomer to the sport, I am wondering will my weight preference change as I get better and more experience. While I know there is no crystal ball, I am wondering what has been your experience.

Also, since I have a fluctuating hand tremor, I wonder if a heavier vs a lighter stick will tend to minimize this.

thanks

bw

Brent
01-12-2003, 04:16 PM
HI. Well Im quite new at this game too and no offence but do u really think it matters so much ? if its 19 or 20 cuz like the difference is so small. Its not like when u use the 20 ur shots are more or less accurate. I belive some guys like Tom in Cincy and Chris Cass could beat our asses with some golf putters. /ccboard/images/graemlins/smile.gif So dont bother ur brain with these thaughts. If u like the 20oz and feel comfortable then buy it and enjoy. Good luck. If my post is total BS then tell me and lighten me /ccboard/images/graemlins/smile.gif

TonyM
01-13-2003, 02:02 AM
For someone with a hand tremor, I would think that a heavier cue would be preferable. The greater inertia (thank you Mr. Newton!) will tend to help keep the cue on line.

Over time, many people find that as their stroke improves and their speed control becomes finer, that they tend to gravitate toward slightly lighter cues.

Keep in mind that there is a compromise at work here. The heavier the cue, the easier it is to keep on line, but you do lose some fine speed control.

Tony

silverbullet
01-13-2003, 08:09 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote TonyM:</font><hr> For someone with a hand tremor, I would think that a heavier cue would be preferable. The greater inertia (thank you Mr. Newton!) will tend to help keep the cue on line.