PDA

View Full Version : Tip Size

01-14-2003, 01:20 PM
I've been playing pool for 10 years and have been shooting with a Joss for 8 of those. I'm not sure how familar everyone is with Joss cues but their standard tip size is 13 1/4 not the 13 that most cues come with. I really like these cues and have just bought my 3rd Joss the other day and will not likely ever change.

My question is what do you think the advantages/disadvantages of the larger tip size? I've noticed that the power draw shot is slightly harder due to the fact that you can't cue as low on the cue ball but other than that I can't find any other disadvantages. Maybe I'm just use to it since I've been shooting with one so long.

I'm also wondering if anyone know of any Pros that shoot with a larger than 13 mm tip. I know of a few Pros that shoot with Joss cues but they all have their shafts & tips turned down to 13 or lower.

Thanks,

Phil

SpiderMan
01-14-2003, 04:24 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Phil in the UK:</font><hr> I've been playing pool for 10 years and have been shooting with a Joss for 8 of those. I'm not sure how familar everyone is with Joss cues but their standard tip size is 13 1/4 not the 13 that most cues come with. I really like these cues and have just bought my 3rd Joss the other day and will not likely ever change.

My question is what do you think the advantages/disadvantages of the larger tip size? I've noticed that the power draw shot is slightly harder due to the fact that you can't cue as low on the cue ball but other than that I can't find any other disadvantages. Maybe I'm just use to it since I've been shooting with one so long.

I'm also wondering if anyone know of any Pros that shoot with a larger than 13 mm tip. I know of a few Pros that shoot with Joss cues but they all have their shafts &amp; tips turned down to 13 or lower.

Thanks,

Phil <hr /></blockquote>

Phil,