PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else here gone through these phases?

01-14-2003, 05:09 PM
I began playing pretty young, at the age of ten. For the first two years of my playing career I had to play on either a bumper pool table or a fibreboard shaky 6 footer. When I was old enough to go into the "big boys" poolroom I had a pretty good headstart and had just about completed my first phase.

Phase One- Went from complete novice to a "shotmaker".

Now I may have been hard headed since for the next 4 years I could pocket nearly any ball but had little idea where my cueball would be when I was complete. I was often out of line but could make nearly any shot so it never really botherd me.

Phase Two- Shotmaker with little regard for shape.

At 16 I was old enough to leave the local Boys Club and play at a real poolhall. It was then I discovered english and position (OK, so I was a slow learner). Seemingly overnight I could draw my rock like it was on a string, spin my cueball, park it on a half dollar and still make difficult shots when necessary.

Phase Three- I learned position and it became my friend.

Shortly after the age of 18 I donated 15 months of my life to defend someone elses country. Then I took pool up again and found I still had cueball control but had lost my superhuman /ccboard/images/graemlins/smile.gif shot making abilities.

Phase Four- Gone from superhuman to a mere mortal.

Next I began to refine my strategy and learn patterns still attempting to recoup the shotmaking ability I had experienced as a teenager. Don't get me wrong I can still bear down and make nearly any shot I was capable of pocketing in the past. What I cannot do is make 5 or 6 extremely difficult shots in a row, although I rarely get that far out of line these days either.

Phase Five- Accepting my mortality but longing for those good old days!

I am just wondering if any one else here can relate mine to similar phases in their pool carrers. Am anxious to hear your stories.

Jimbo