PDA

View Full Version : The "SLIP-SHOT"

Candyman
01-18-2003, 09:31 PM
I am new to pool and new to this forum, but I have been reading a lot about the game and its history in the last few months. In checking out Willie Mosconi it was said that he had the best slip-shot ever! I have searched and searched the web for this shot and can't find a thing. Can somebody please explain this shot and possibly demonstrate with those funny number thingys. I did figure out how that worked.

Tom_In_Cincy
01-18-2003, 10:00 PM
Clay,
If I'm not mistaken Mr. Mosconi was a perfectionist at using the 'Slip Stroke' method of delivering the cue stick to the cue ball..

Here's an account of Mr. Mosconi and his 'Slip Stroke'
http://www.billiardtown.com/mosconi.htm

Here is another site that will sell you instructions on how to use and develop a 'Slip Stoke'
http://www.billiardsinstruction.com/trainaids1.htm
The 'Slip Stroke' is the fine art of actually 'throwing the cue' towards the cue ball and catching it in a very controlled manner. Granted its not much of a throw.. the cue does actually come out of your rear hand and is caught by the same hand just a few inches forward.

I have experimented with this technique and have found it very effective with draw and english shots.

JohnnyP
01-19-2003, 01:02 AM
I just did a quick search at rec.sport.billiards:

http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=en&lr=&ie=ISO-8859-1&q=slip+stroke&btnG=Google+Search

http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&th=64f4d1de3e44ff0a&rnum=2

I accidentally stumbled onto it back in '69. I started letting the cue slide out of my hand on the forward stroke, and it stopped me from twisting my wrist.

Rod
01-19-2003, 01:42 AM
Clay,