PDA

View Full Version : Need Advice - Putting a table in Garage?

Photoguy
02-05-2003, 01:45 PM
I am think about putting a pool table in an unfinished gagage (no heat, insulation or sheetrock - your basic garage). Anybody have any experiece with his? How do the tables hold up? I am not a beginning player, yet I am not a pro who can tell the difference in how the cloth plays with changes in the weather, air conditioning or time of day, etc. How about the "all weather" pool tables that are advertised to be put outside, how do these play in comparison to a real nice indoor table? In the past, I have had an Olhausen that was inside the house. Any thoughts or suggestions?

Popcorn
02-05-2003, 02:15 PM
Do the best you can to seal it up, and put in a dehumidifier. You may also get a hygrometer, ($20. Radioshack) to monitor the humidity. By all means put something on the floor if it is concrete. It is not only better on your feet, but will protect a ball jumped off the table. You should have air if you can. If the garage is large, you can buy some plastic sheeting used as drop clothes, about 3 mill from home depot. (very cheap to buy) Partition the room with it so you only have to air-condition and dehumidify a small part of the room. It works very well for this purpose and does not require any building or messing with the garage itself. You are a lucky guy, a lot of people don't have a place to put a table. Before I removed a wall in the house, I had a table in my garage and that is exactly what I did. It worked great for more then 10 years. My setup was so nice and I kept the table perfect. I had many guys match up in my garage. It is about 100 feet from the house and more then once I would wake up in the morning and find guys gambling in the garage, who had been playing when the local poolroom closed. This ended when I got married though. My house stopped being the local pool and poker hangout. It is fun now to think back to those days.

L.S. Dennis
02-06-2003, 01:43 AM