PDA

View Full Version : Why do you play down (or up)?

02-12-2003, 07:27 PM
I've heard alot of people talk about it, and I've experienced it myself. When I'm playing someone that doesn't know how to shoot, I nearly get my butt kicked (or at least, miss alot of shots I normally make and it turns into a pool marathon). But when I play very high rated people, I can usually keep right up with them. Very weird. I guess it goes with the old saying that pool is 99% mental.

cycopath
02-12-2003, 08:36 PM
I do the same thing when I play my wife. I try to keep my game up, meaning I don't deliberately dump, but maybe subconsciencely I am.

02-12-2003, 09:20 PM
I do the same thing.

I also noticed something on a related note last weekend. A buddy has been coming over to my house every Sunday for a couple hours to play. He's a decent player, I believe he's an APA SL5, but I generally beat him in our races. Last week I had been showing my wife how to play. We're talking raw beginner here -- 14 years of marriage and she just now agrees to try (I've been playing for 25 years, but we've only had our own table since Christmas). So anyway, I'm showing her the basics and shooting some 8-ball with her, for 2 or 3 days last week. I just half-way played, not trying hard, focusing more on her game than mine, and thus blowing lots of shots I would normally make. Then Sunday comes, my buddy comes over, and for some reason I couldn't get outta that mode -- I just kept blowing the easy ones. It took me several racks to come out of the slump, and while I did beat him at 8-ball (his best game) 5-2, I lost the 9-ball race (my game) 7-6 after fighting tooth and nail from being behind 4-1.

Coincidence? I dunno. It felt like I had dumbed myself down during the week, and had a heck of a time pulling myself back up to my normal level.

David

cycopath
02-12-2003, 09:38 PM