PDA

View Full Version : Does the Q-Wiz take off wood?

02-26-2003, 06:56 PM
The Q-Wiz (burnishing product endorsed by Mizerak) claims that it doesn't harm the cue or take off any diameter. After I used if I found a light tan powder that looked remarkably like wood on it. Am I doing something wrong or what!?

ceebee
02-26-2003, 07:52 PM
that tannish white powder ain't wood. It's more likely to be the sweat & oil from your skin. I've been using the Q-Wiz for 2-3 years... it is a marvelous product. I have a $1800 Richard Black, an $1800 Joss West, a great High Dollar Adams & a $1000 Pechauer that I use. I'm a good player, I play at nice establishments that do not allow powder any longer & the Q-Wiz is great. How's that for a testimonial... & I don't even like the guy that market's it.

TonyM
02-26-2003, 11:43 PM
The cuewiz is essentially a flexible wet or dry sandpaper (yes it's an abrasive) bonded to a flexible substrate. So yes, it will and does remove wood!

But not very much. One side is coarser than the other. So if you are worried about diameter reduction, use the smooth side.

I only use sandpaper (and I keep a cuewiz in my case for rare useage btw) after I have cleaned a shaft with an abrasive liquid cleanser. The water raises the grain, and a fine sandpaper is needed to smooth & knock the grain back down again.

Otherwise, I never touch my shaft with sandpaper or any abrasive at all. Why would I?

I clean my shafts with a mild solvent after each use (rubbing alcohol or lighter fluid) and at the pool hall I use a damp paper towel followed by a dry paper towel if the shaft gets a little sticky. And as everyone here knows, I use no finish whatsoever on my shafts other than a natural patina from hand oils. My shafts are bare wood. This is the best way to minimize build up of hand oils and the stickiness problem imo, and makes it easy to remove minor dents and dings.

So with that regimen, I NEVER have the need for any sandpaper.