PDA

View Full Version : "THE FAT MAN GOES THROUGH THE FLOOR BY FAST LARRY

03-01-2003, 01:45 AM
Mr T writes, fast, you cant go away yet, you promised me a story. I read about what you wrote about Omana Fats at Johnston City, Ill, I love your pool stories, tell me more about the guy. I saw him hustle some good players in my home room years ago. You are right, the guy could play great & he was an awesome hustler.
Dear Mr. T, there is a old saying, the fish grows, and each time the story is told, the fish gets bigger. I was not there, I did not see the event, but I do believe it occured, because I knew the man, I heard him tell it soon after it happened, I heard him tell it 100 times over a span of 10 years, and he never changed the story. Here it is, as best as I can remember it from a half of a century ago, told in the vernacular of the time. I was a traveling salesman out of Kansas City in the 60's, my territory was 4 states. I called on a lot of hardware stores & went into a few pool halls along the river from KC to Omaha. I guess the story took place in or somewhere close to St Joseph, Mo. Many of those buildings were built in the l860's to the 1880's. I can remember walking across some of those old wood floors & doing a hail Mary when I crossed & the floor didn't cave in. I was in several places, that I am sure, had I leaped up & crashed my weight into the floor, it would have cracked or collapsed. Most of those old places were torn down soon after this story occured. Let me now try to tell the story, by becoming the Fat man if you may.