PDA

View Full Version : Books or guides for better stroke

dmgwalsh
03-03-2003, 02:49 PM
I just bought a used pro8 brunswick anniversary table for my basement. I'm 51 now and haven't played much in years. When I was ateenager, I played around a little, but I think my high run in straight pool was somewhere in the low 20s.

i'd like to improve my game and I was wondering if anyone can point me to books or videos or something so that I could start practicing the right way. I figure since I haven't played that much in years, my old bad habits might not be deeply ingrained and maybe I could learn the right way this tie. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks

socrates
03-03-2003, 08:22 PM
When I started playing again in 1990 I was fortunte that Mark Wilson, a very knowledgeable instructor, had opened a room and teaching facility five minutes from my office. During the three years the Matchroom was open I took lessons continuosly from Mark. I have since went on and continued to take lessons from several other instructors all of whom have helped me continue to improve.

My first point is that IMO there is no substitute for lessons from the right individual for you. IMO there are two important things they can bring to the table. The first is they should be able to understand, communicate and teach fundamentals and proper stroke mechanics. The second area comes in the form of knowledge transfer. The best instructors can do both.

If available I would encourage you to seek out a knowledgeable instructor.

In the meantime a couple of books that you might find helpful to get started are:

A Smarter Way to Learn Pool - George Fels
Mastering Pool - George Fels
Idots guide to Pool - Ewa Lawrence
Play Your Best Pool - Phil Capelle

Good Luck.

03-03-2003, 10:45 PM