PDA

View Full Version : new table installation

03-04-2003, 04:45 PM
hello, i'm new here and i'm seeking advice. i have just purchased a table from zbilliards on ebay. i did my homework beforehand and it seemed to be the best value. the table arrived yesterday, and i'm thrilled! it seems very well made, i'm very impressed with the quality. i'm anxiously awaiting the felt and instructions which should arrive in a day or so. i plan to do the installation myself if possible...i'm quite handy and have experience building things, woodwork, precision work etc. however, i'm new to pool tables and i was wondering if there's anything that i should know before i begin? i can see how the structure goes together easily enough, the frame is pre assembled and i have already put the legs on. the 3 piece 1" slate rests on the cabinet with the rails bolting though it. questions that i have are 1. how is it leveled? shims? perhaps those two holes in each of the outside pieces of slate, near the edge? 2. how do you smooth the lines between the seams? i've heard beeswax but i dont know. 3. is it ok to have scratches in the slate? there are several scratches that are deep enough to feel with my fingertips (i didn't like the way the shippers handled the stuff) if it's a problem, i want to take it up with zbilliars before the table is installed, i've heard that poor installation can make a good table seem lousy and good installation can make a poor table play well. i'd just like to do it all right the first time. btw thus far, zbilliards customer service and product seems very good. i can't believe the quality of the finish! the solid maple is beautiful! thanks for your time and experience.

L.S. Dennis
03-04-2003, 05:06 PM
Well congradulations on the new table. Regarding putting it together, if you've never done it before or at the very least watched someone else do it you're going to in for a rough time.