PDA

View Full Version : cue help

Geoff
03-06-2003, 03:35 PM
Hi everyone, I just discovered this board about a week ago, what a great resource! I am pretty much a beginner. I've been playing once or twice a week for a few years now, but only in the last 6 months have I been practicing and playing almost every day. My question is, could some of you recomend a good cue for a beginner to start out with, that will last me a few years? I have been playing with a Palmer Billiards cue that cost me about $50 last year, but the ferrule has begun coming loose, and the tip is done. Rather then even bother to get it repaired I'd rather just invest in a good cue that will suit me as I develop my stroke and learn technique. I have been using a 19 oz. cue with a 13mm tip, but I seem to play better when using a cue with a 12.75 or 12.5 tip. If anyone has any recomendations, I'd really appreciate it. I'd like to keep it under $250, Im a law student on a VERY tight budget.

Sid_Vicious
03-06-2003, 03:40 PM
How about shopping the internet for one of Predator's sneaky pete style cues(Looks like a house cue when assembled)? You get the 12.75 ferrule, plus a great shaft. It might be a little over 250, but would definitely last you a long time and also be a good cue to keep even after you made a move upwards...sid

Cueless Joey
03-06-2003, 03:40 PM
Get a Predator sneakie pete. If you don't like it, it has very good resale value.

Sid_Vicious
03-06-2003, 03:41 PM
Same idea, same time...sid ;-)

Geoff
03-06-2003, 03:47 PM
thanks for the quick responses guys. To add a bit to my question, what are some things I should look for in general when shopping for a cue? I am familiar with the different tips and the pro taper, what about joints? Is wood to wood a good thing or bad? all advice is appreciated. I have been doing a lot of research on the net, and it seems the more I read the more confused I get!

Predator314
03-06-2003, 03:52 PM