PDA

View Full Version : The stroke pause

bluewolf
03-11-2003, 06:19 AM
I was having a problem with especially the long cuts which were out from the pocket and ocasionally with the long straighins too.

I noticed this. I was aligned correct and my aim was correct. My stroke was straight during the preshot. Scott taught a pause at the cb before the final stroke. Randy g taught a set (slt pause) at the cb and a pause at the backswing before the final stroke and follow. I noticed that allison fisher has a long back pause.

Being a diligent student I have been practicing the way I was taught.

On the last stroke and follow, my stroke arm was turning in and back out to the right, imparting right english on the cb resulting in a miss.

When I took out both pauses and just went 1,2,3 pop the shots started going in. I think that when my muscles stop is when I tremor. I still feel bad about not being about to be successful in the method I was taught.

So my question is - Is it bad to shoot without a pause?
Also, what do the rest of you do in your stroke relating to a pause?

Laura

nAz
03-11-2003, 06:32 AM
How can not pausing on the last stroke before a shot be bad if you are popping the shots? I dont believe its a bad thing, if it works for that particular type of shot then stick with it, if puasing on a draw shot works then stick with that on that shot.
I tend to just shoot my shots after 4-5 strokes on long shots and i also pause on very close shots and stop shots... hey what ever works best /ccboard/images/graemlins/smile.gif

mark wilson
03-11-2003, 07:27 AM