PDA

View Full Version : Questions on bridge Open or Closed

Flyin-Q
03-15-2003, 05:59 PM
Hello All. I need some advice. I've been playing pool now for 15+ years. More seriosly the last Three. I'm in the top 10 in our local VNEA League. But not sure how I'd compare handicap with the APA league. Anyway, I'm just wondering, Ever since I started playing pool I have ALWAYS used the open Bridge. In fact the only time I ever hold the cue different is on the break when I lay the shaft on the rail and split it with two fingers.

Since I put a Valley bar box in my house last year and have been reading and studing to improve my game. I see most all the "pros" use the closed bridge on many shots.

I here the closed bridge is better for a lot of shots. I really don't know why though. I very seldom ever miscue. I can draw the length of the table. And pretty good at long thin cuts. My weaker points are banking and getting the cue ball to end up exactly were I want it. But they are coming along quite well also. I guess I'm just wondering if I'm Missing out on something by not using the closed bridge, do I really need to practice it when I feel I can do with out. The reason I hate it so much is that I don't like my big fingers in the way of aiming my shots and looking down the shaft. I do a lot of hunting and I wouldn't like my finger between the sights of my rifle either. I get way down on my stick when I shoot (Unshaved whiskers on chin will rub on the stick). I have never had an instructor or coaching help by anyone who was really that much better of a player than I am or new how to teach the Game(Don't get me wrong I know there are a million of you out there)

Anyway, Hope you can understand what I'm trying to say here. Any comments, sugestions or help will be much appriciated.

Flyin-Q

03-15-2003, 06:47 PM