PDA

View Full Version : lighter fluid

03-23-2003, 01:43 PM
How does lighter fluid effect the finish on a shaft? I thought that it would strip it off.

TommyT
03-23-2003, 02:45 PM
There should be no finish on the shaft.

03-23-2003, 02:56 PM
The last time I had my shaft "re-finished", my cue man used beeswax. That is what I meant by "finish".

Troy
03-23-2003, 03:39 PM
Light fluid won't strip a finish, but it will remove wax redidue, dirt, etc. If buffed or burnished after cleaned with lighter fluid, the shaft will be very smooth.

Any wax will become sticky from use unless very well buffed/burnished. That's why I quit using any wax.

Troy

03-23-2003, 05:13 PM
I'm relatively new at this. Am I to believe then that your shaft is bare wood?

Carlton31698
03-23-2003, 05:31 PM
When you buff or burnish a shaft you rub it very hard and fast with 1000 - 2000 grit sand paper, dollar bill, leather, or a brown paper bag ( I'm sure I left out a lot of things you can use) to seal the pores in the wood. Burnishing is a kind of finish, and it is very effective when done right. /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Troy
03-23-2003, 06:08 PM
Yes, my shafts have no finish. I have found it's difficult to keep a shaft with a finish from getting sticky with use. The most I do is a final burnish with wax paper.

I have done many shaft cleanings and re-tapers for customers and never put on a finish although I might use a bit of silicon spray on a soft cloth. I use 1000 grit very lightly followed by a burnish with leather while spinning the shaft with a lathe. A similar effect can be done by hand, it just takes more effort and time.

Troy
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote captain:</font><hr> I'm relatively new at this. Am I to believe then that your shaft is bare wood? <hr /></blockquote>

UWPoolGod
03-24-2003, 03:03 PM