PDA

View Full Version : How to target?

03-28-2003, 12:59 PM
What is the best way to target the balls? I have been playing pool for 3 years, and played amateur, so I targeted, when was nearly shooting.

But then I have met a coach and he is preparing professional from me:) And he told, that the targeting should be done BEFORE standing in the post and shooting.

But the methods he explainded don't suit me. He advised imagining another ball near the targen ball in direction to the pocket. And the deal is to shoot in the center of this imagined ball.

This doesn't suit me, because for me it is difficult to imagine ball. It's not mine.

I am searching for the suitable way to target, but didn't find one. Always missing:)

Pls, help! What good ways of targetting do you know?

Wally_in_Cincy
03-28-2003, 03:02 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Skyer:</font><hr>
Pls, help! What good ways of targetting do you know? <hr /></blockquote>

Shoot about 100,000 shots and you'll be fine.

bluewolf
03-28-2003, 03:14 PM
This is frustrating. I tried this method and that one, including the one your coach is describing looking for a magical solution. I was very stubborn but finally came to my senses and realized that nothing would substitute for hitting balls. A lot of expereinced people say 'time on the table'. Once I accepted reality, balls started going in. Not all of them, but steady improvement. So it is about accepting that it takes time and dedication to be good. I have also learned that there are lots of other aspects to this game besides getting the balls in the hole.

Laura

q4summit
03-28-2003, 03:19 PM
The "imaginary ball" is called Ghost Balling. It works for me, its quite easy. But it doesn't work for everyone. Jeanette Lee doesn't believe in ghosts. She flat out says: Shoot balls.