PDA

View Full Version : Need advice & your vote: Best $100 cue ?

Snyder1
03-28-2003, 02:08 PM
Hi all - I'm a relative newbie - been playing serious for about 6-7 months & think I need something better than my $30 Walmart special. I'm really getting into it & am enjoying billiards immensely. I'm definitely not a beginner at this point, and have played enough to know that I think better equipment would help me. It's about time to upgrade (at this stage, I realize I'm not ready or more importantly, haven't developed the skills to appreciate the benefits of a Meucci or other higher end stick). I've done some research, and have an idea what I want, but would love some direction ... my target price range is +/- $100 for now.

- Which is "the" preferred mail order pool supplies house (best selection, best prices, etc) ? I live in a small town in Central PA & there's no place out here to try out anything before I buy ... so its gonna be mail order.

- What weight & length would likely be best for a borderline intermediate player (I'm 6', 225 pounds if this helps). I've got a 20 ounce cue now, seems a bit heavy. I just don't have the background to make an educated decision - what are some advantages/disadvantages of the heavier/lighter cue ? Length is also a question ... any recommendations ?

- As for materials, I've seen & played fiberglass, titanium, carbon fiber, and plain old maple. Fiberglass breaks amazingly well, but feels clubby. Titanium seems really unforgiving & I can't get used to the sound. Glass coated ... never tried one, but from what I've read, are popular ? Whats the concensus (again for somebody at my skill level) ? FYI: I'm a woodworker & would love to get something in figured maple, but I'm quite sure thats out of my price range for now - or is it (does anybody make a flame or birdseye maple cue in this price range) ? /ccboard/images/graemlins/confused.gif