PDA

View Full Version : Straight Pool Question



q4summit
04-03-2003, 08:07 PM
Lets say I pocket the ball in the pocket I call. I scratch on the same shot and pocket another ball.

Obviously the 1st pocketed ball + the scratch = 0.

But what about the 2nd ball? Does it not count or is it pluse 1 or minus 1?

Marc

MarkUrsel
04-03-2003, 09:16 PM
Straight pool is a call-shot game. If you make the called shot, collateral damage counts. If you didn't make the shot, nothing else counts. In this case, both balls sunk would be re-spotted and opponent has ball-in-hand behind the line. Score is -1 for the scratch.

Fred Agnir
04-04-2003, 07:25 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote q4summit:</font><hr> Lets say I pocket the ball in the pocket I call. I scratch on the same shot and pocket another ball.

Obviously the 1st pocketed ball + the scratch = 0. <font color="red">This is not correct</font color>

But what about the 2nd ball? Does it not count or is it pluse 1 or minus 1?

Marc <hr /></blockquote>Sorry, Marc, but there's no "obviously" about it. You don't get credited any points for either pocketed ball if you scratch on the same shot.

You get a minus 1 for the scratch. Both balls spot up. Subtract the point from your running total, not your rack total.

Fred