PDA

View Full Version : 8 Ball v 9 Ball

bigbro6060
04-06-2003, 08:59 PM
I have started to play more 9 Ball but i am definitely mainly an 8 Ball player. I love the positional challenge of 9 Ball, there's definitely more long range positioning, but tactically i think 8 Ball is heaps more exciting than 9 Ball. 8 Ball games can be a real chess match when played at a high level. 9Ball it really is either take a shot or play safe.

From a beginner's point of view, 8Ball looks much easier, you have heaps more balls to aim at, but at the higher level, there are so many tactical and positionally subtleties in 8Ball

I should add that i play the uk style of 8Ball with reds and yellows. The top UK 8ball players are great cueists indeed. Chris Melling has got to the later stages of the World 9ball champs before.

04-06-2003, 09:23 PM
heheh for me I love 8 ball (at the moment anyway) only because I am just learning to play and I have more options of what ball I can shoot in (being they are spread out all over the table LOL). /ccboard/images/graemlins/laugh.gif My son is the same but some reason he won in 9 ball today, the best 2 of 3. Some boy his age asked him to play with him.

Hopster
04-06-2003, 09:25 PM
I like 8 ball myself but not in bars. Its a great game, you got to think a lot like in straight pool and as you said the chess aspect is there. Definetly got to use your head.
I have never seen the english form as you describe, sounds interesting.

dg-in-centralpa
04-07-2003, 02:15 PM
Personally I likje 8ball better because I hate to lose 9ball to a banger who slops it in after missing a shot and having the cb run three rails and get lucky on the 9 ball.

/ccboard/images/graemlins/smirk.gifBeer - making all women look good at 2am.

Fred Agnir
04-07-2003, 02:17 PM