PDA

View Full Version : Pool, what has it done for you?

Kato
04-16-2003, 08:32 AM
I was talking to Karatemom last night and I got to thinking. If I didn't start playing pool what would I be doing? Would I be married? Have kids? Go on normal vacations? Would I sleep normal hours like a normal person? What would I have done?

I started playing pool about 9 or 10 years ago. I had gone through a brutal breakup with a woman I was engaged to and she had shattered my entire universe. I was drinking heavily to drowned my sorrows and becoming a real live jerk. I heard an advertisement on the radio for a new pool hall opening nearby and I got hooked. In that respect I think pool saved my life. On the bad side it has helped wreck relationships that I had with women since, it helped me flunk out of college twice /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif, and it helped me meet a bookie that I lost about $5000 to in 2 football seasons. HOWEVER, it literally saved me from drowning myself in booze and saved me from alienating everyone in my family. It introduced me to a group of friends, and I fit in. Would I trade it all and start over again?

Nope, no I wouldn't.

Thanks for listening

Kato

Wally_in_Cincy
04-16-2003, 08:52 AM
I am more comfortable sitting at my computer because my wallet is thinner /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Seriously I have met at least 100 new friends and that is priceless.

And everybody needs a hobby to wash away the worries of real life.

eg8r
04-16-2003, 09:12 AM
Pool also showed you that you know nothing about football. /ccboard/images/graemlins/smile.gif You lost $5k in two seasons. Ouch. /ccboard/images/graemlins/frown.gif

For me, pool is an escape from everything else. I love my wife and my job, but it is nice to get away for a couple hours a week. While in college, I could go play pool to clear my mind. Pool has also helped me meet a lot of new people I would not have known otherwise.