PDA

View Full Version : pool tables

04-25-2003, 07:28 AM
can anyone steer me in the right direction as to what kind of table to buy? I'm stuck between an olhausen or american heritage

pooltchr
04-25-2003, 07:36 AM
I've heard good things for both. I personally like Olhausen. Whatever you decide, if it doesn't come with it, pay the extra hundred for Simonis cloth.

04-25-2003, 09:29 AM
I've been a player for 20+ years and I work as a Service Manager for a billiards company, so I thought I'd put my 2 cents worth in here.

First of all, whichever brand of table you buy, follow this advice:

1. DO NOT, UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES, PURCHASE A TABLE THAT IS TOO LARGE FOR THE AREA WHERE IT WILL BE PLACED!!! I can't stress that enough. Make sure that your pool table has about 60 inches (5 ft) from the wall (or any other obstruction) to the inside of each rail.
2. Do not purchase a "low-end" table from ANY manufacturer that has pressboard or fiberboard rails. These rails can only be recovered a finite number of times. After a couple of recovers the rails will turn to sawdust when you pull the staples out.
3. Do not get purchase a table w/ unframed slate or slate under 7/8 of an inch in thickness. If possible, go with doweled slate.
4. If you are going for a larger table (8 or 9 footer) try to avoid the "spindly" type legs found on alot of furniture style tables in favor or larger, more substantial legs. This will take alot of vibration out of your table.
5. BUY AMERICAN. Lots of chinese knock-offs are available online, but they are pure $hit.

With these things in mind, any number of manufacturers can accomodate your needs including Olhausen, American Heritage, AMF, Brunswick, and Connelly.