PDA

View Full Version : What do you find is the best...

c.holtz009
04-26-2003, 09:15 AM
I don't know if this has been done to death or not, but what type of glue do you use to tip your cue?

The last while I've been using Tweeten 10 minute cement, but I was curious if there was anything else that worked well like contact cement or something.

I was thinking of trying Lepage's #6 contact cement, but I don't know if it will hold up.

Whatchya think??

pooltchr
04-26-2003, 09:36 AM
You might find this hard to believe, but I have been doing cue repair for years, and use Duro Super Gel. In the last 3 years, I have only had 3 customers come back to me with missing tips.

Tom_In_Cincy
04-26-2003, 10:03 AM
I second the use of Duro Gel super glue, I've been using it for the last 10 years and have never had a tip come off.

NBC-BOB
04-29-2003, 08:18 AM
I use the gel type of cyanoacrylates glues and since the gel type has a longer curing time, I like using the activator, that they sell for these glues.I put the gel on the ferrule side and spray the activator on the tip.But you have to be quick, because it bonds instantly!

pooldaddy9
04-29-2003, 10:23 AM
I've been using Loctite 454 for years and have never had a tip come off. Just be sure to position the tip quick. There are so many different kinds you can use. 454 - That's what I find best.

c.holtz009
04-29-2003, 10:38 AM
The main reason I am asking, is because I had to re - tip my predator shaft 3 times. I was using the Tweeten ten minute tip cement. I have done many tips for people over the last few years, and very seldom have had one come off. Now with the Predator shaft, I cannot seem to keep a tip on.
If it makes a difference, I use Le Pro tips. It's the only hard tip I can find around here.
I would love to try some different brands of tips, but I don't want to order a whole box to find out I don't like them. Any suggestions?

pooltchr
04-29-2003, 12:12 PM