PDA

View Full Version : Terminology

gnef
04-27-2003, 02:53 AM
Hi, I'm pretty new to pool, and have been reading through this forum, as well as through as much as time allows. You guys throw around a lot of terminology that i am not accustomed to. Kicks, caroms, from the seven? stuff like that. I was wondering if you guys could educate me. Heh. or point me to a website that explains all the different terminology.

Thanks,

-Mel

gnef
04-27-2003, 05:35 PM
Also, after reading through the robot-made cues, what exactly is a 'point'? and all the other terms thrown around in the creation of the cue, and the different splices? what exactly is this, how exactly does it influence the play of the stick, etc.

-Mel

rukiddingme
04-27-2003, 07:34 PM
and your point is....?
sorry, I just could not resist /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif
On a more serious note, if you go to www.schulercue.com (http://www.schulercue.com) and go into the history section of the site you will find a serious discussion regarding the form and function of points on a cue.
ruk

heater451
04-28-2003, 07:12 AM
(I can't believe no-one has answered you yet. . . .)

Kicks--this is similar to a bank, except you shoot the cueball (CB) to a railbefore contact with the object ball (OB). Makes more sense, as the number of rails needed goes up.

Carom--a shot where the OB is ricocheted off of another ball, in order to alter its path. Sometimes referred to as a "kiss" shot; often confused with a "billiard" shot.

Billiard--when the CB is ricocheted off of another ball, in order to alter its path.

"from the seven"--(probably) a reference to finishing a game of 9-ball, with the 7, 8, and 9 left to play. As in, "getting out, from the seven". (Note: 9-ball is a 'rotation' game, where the balls are shot in order 1-9, with the 9 winning the game.)

If I had the time, I would post some links. For now, if you want anymore detail, you can probably just search through Google.

==================

04-28-2003, 08:43 AM